RI Scrambler

Here’s a fresh concept ship; RI Scrambler.

Design notes – I’m really diggin’ the new B3D Pointiness node . . . such a quick-n-dirty (excuse the pun. HA!!) way to add depth and scruff up the crevices in your model. It’s a lot faster and easier than the worn edges/dirt map method . . . which is also cool. And I really like using mainly a white/lighter diffuse shader for quick ‘concepting’ as it really shows all the nuances in the model.

I drew inspiration from watching an old demo-video from I-Novae Studios Infinity: Battlescape. It was the 13-14 minute demo where they just fly the ship around and explore the procedurally-generated objects. Way cool, actually. Anyway . . . the ship, though it didn’t look to entirely fit in with the surroundings as far as finish-level, color, etc. was an interesting shape for me, so I made my own version of it. I added my own nuance to it and some extra flight-surfaces . . . so it’s more like a cousin to theirs. Wasn’t trying to rip off their design . . . I just liked the overall form language.

One last comment, I stuck a basic worker/scale-reference guy on the largest of the ship-angles shown here. He’s standing atop the rear port-side thruster housing.

Introducing the RI Scrambler. I hope you enjoy!
ri_scrambler_5v_web

Leave a Reply

